JLSF Volunteer Awards

Active, Sustainer, and Committee of the Year Awards

These awards are bestowed on members (including members of the Board of Directors) or committees who go above and beyond the roles that they have been assigned. The recipients of the awards are nominated by Leadership (for individuals) and Board members (for committees).

Criteria (Must meet four out of five criteria):

  • Develops the potential of women by training, mentoring, coaching, and/or leading by example
  • Creates and maintains constructive and positive collaboration, exemplary teamwork and cross-functional work through committees
  • Impacts the community
  • Demonstrates leadership (even if the person is not in a slated leadership position)
  • Vision

Spirit of the Junior League of San Francisco

This award reflects a volunteer’s lifetime achievements in the JLSF and in our community.  Usually, recipients of this award meet the following criteria:

  • At least ten years of service in the JLSF
  • Past / current leader in the JLSF
  • Currently active or retired as an effective leader in the community
  • Recognized for her outstanding dedication to the JLSF
  • Inspires other JLSF volunteers as a role model

Melissa Harrington Hughes Outstanding Leadership Award

This award will be presented to one “new” and “up-coming” leader (someone who is a first time or second time leader, vice chairs are included).

This award is for a volunteer who is an outstanding leader (Vice-Chairs as well):

  • Has great team work and leadership skills
  • Is highly enthusiastic about the League and works to further its mission and goals
  • Works well with both those she leads on her committee and also those beside and above her on her Council and Board
  • Shows interest in advancing with in the League leadership structure
  • Shows initiative in her Vice Chair or Chair position (i.e., leaves the committee better than she found it)
  • Always cheerful and energetic
  • Participates in more JLSF activities than are required

Hayley Swift Provisional of the Year Award

This award is in memory of Hayley Swift, who was a dedicated Provisional Education Advisor for the 2000-2001 JLSF League year, and who died in a plane crash on March 24, 2001. The Hayley Swift Provisional Spirit of the Year Award is given to the New Member who is:

  • Highly enthusiastic
  • Positive and energetic
  • Attends every meeting
  • Completes requirements ahead of time
  • Participates in more JLSF activities than is required
  • Has great team work and leadership skills
  • Is an overall “outstanding” New Member

All nominees for this award are submitted by New Members and New Member Advisors.

Wendy Hayward Distinguished Member of the Year

This award honors Wendy Hayward who lost a courageous battle to cancer in 2018.

Getting people excited about a project or a cause came naturally to Wendy. Wendy was never one to talk about herself, instead she encouraged others and spoke highly of causes she believed in.

Wendy was never one to limit herself and her potential contributions to whatever committee she was assigned to that year. If she had an idea, an introduction, or access to something/someone that would help the league in another area, even if it wasn’t what her “assigned” committee. Wendy would always reach out to the other committees in the League and see what she could to do facilitate in the best interest of the League. Often that meant introductions to non-profits that were potential JLSF partners.

In Wendy’s honor and to ensure that her legacy lives on, we have created an award that recognizes a committee or a member that best collaborated with other committees and organizations to further the JLSF mission of promoting volunteerism, developing the potential of women, and improving communities through the effective action and leadership of trained volunteers.

2017 – 2018 Award Winners

Active of the Year: Amanda Sargisson
Sustainer of the Year: Trish Otstott
Committee of the Year: Touch-A-Truck
Melissa Harrington Hughes Leadership Award: Nora Quattrin
Spirit of the League: Hilary King
Wendy Hayward Distinguished Member of the Year: Rania Ghawi
Hayley Swift Provisional of the Year: Anna Higgins

For a full list of previous award recipients, please click here and here.